FIA Safety Initiative

We support the FIA Foundation’s global initiative “MAKE ROADS SAFE”, because we, too, believe that 1.3 million people a year killed in road accidents are far too many. Every 6 seconds a human being is killed on the world’s roads. Please join this global initiative:

Logo

Monday, 29 November 2010 00:00

Safety systems by Spengler at Germany’s Race-Of-Champions premiere

image
“We make road safety” proved to be Spenglers perfect slogan for the 23th Race of Champions which after having been held in Paris, London and Bejing for the first time was taken to Germany. In Düsseldorf’s Esprit stadium spectators had the opportunity to come very close to the stars and champions of the most popular racing classes. To guarantee for the safety of this event, the organisers asked Hermann Spengler GmbH and Co. KG to fit the stadium race course with their concrete crash barriers, which had already been tried and tested successfully on many different race tracks. The precast concrete barriers were arranged along the circumference of the inner space of the stadium. The stretch of track passing through the bridge was protected by special concrete gradient end pieces. Michele Mouton, organiser of the Race of Champions, and Didier Ducelier, circuit chief, enthused about the preparation of logistics by Spengler, the speed with which everything had been set up and, in particular, the meticulous execution. “Never in the past twenty years have I had such a neat track boundary.” And thanks to the new radius modules it really looks fantastic”, said Didier Ducelier to Spengler, a happy smile across his face.

That it was not just a matter of good looks, however, but that the course boundary had also supremely mastered the safety challenge it had been designed for became apparent to each and everyone after Heiki Kovalainen’s Audi R8 heavy crash into it. He and his girlfriend climbed out of the vehicle with no injuries at all. The concrete crash barrier had been pushed back almost 40 cm, the special connection elements between the sections had fulfilled their task beautifully and survived the crash with hardly a scratch. The race was resumed after a brief interruption to clear away the debris and no additional measures had to be taken. Safety for the drivers, race marshals and visitors always must come first - a principle which the organiser Michelle Mouton was only too happy to confirm as at the time of the impact she had stood right behind the FIA race track barriers: “Beyond any doubt, my life was saved by these protective barriers”. Bernd Spengler, Chief Executive Officer, pointed out some other highly important benefits of his products: “For the promoters it is of paramount importance that events like this do not have to be terminated after accidents and that the live transmission and continuation of the race are not jeopardised.”

    To the top

     

    Spengler exhibits its products again at the PMW Expo 2010 in Cologne

    Thursday, 25 November 2010 00:00


    Spengler Professional Motorsports World Expo 2010


    Already for the third time Hermann Spengler GmbH & Co. KG exhibited its products at the trade show which had been organised by Professional Motorsport World. As this exhibition is open exclusively to a professional motorsport audience this was an excellent opportunity for Spengler to showcase its product range of passive safety elements designed specifically for the needs of motor races. The generously sized booth was fitted with real concrete crash elements, a pit lane wall, kerbs and curved sections and provided an excellent setting for talks with interested delegates from numerous racecourses. Special attention was attracted by Spengler’s concrete crash barrier with integrated safety fence. Essentially it allows the erection of a safety feature on a minimum of space which already includes the mandatory FIA safety fence in a single unit. In the outdoor exhibition area of the trade fair interested motorsport professionals were treated to a practical demonstration of how quickly this safety system can be assembled and, even more importantly, of easily these protection barriers with integrated fence can be replaced in one single operation.

    Motorsports expert Max Welti, who gave a live comment on the demonstration, is fully convinced of the worth of Spengler’s developments: “People who like me have survived terrible accidents only thanks to a stroke of sheer good luck will be able to appreciate the true value of such developments for motor racing today. This is the mission of Bernd Spengler who is tirelessly and ceaselessly seeking out new possibilities of improvement. First and foremost for him it is not just about the restraint function of such features, but about the efficient absorption of energy. His absorbers in the barriers as well as the Omega claws in the fences are details are absolutely convincing in this respect.”

    And also the organizers of the Race of Champions believe in the superior performance of Spengler’s motorsport safety system. As was illustrated by the fact that Sebastian Vettel’s ROC KTM X-BOW race car was shown in Spengler’s booth at the exhibition.

    To the top

     

    Spengler with large booth at the German Road and Traffic Congress 2010

    Thursday, 16 September 2010 00:00


    Spengler at the German Road and Traffic Congress 2010


    On Wednesday 15 September 2010 Rainer Bomba, undersecretary at the Federal Transport Ministry, opened this year’s congress with a walk-around tour of the exhibition. Bomba and his delegation also paid a visit to the booth of Spengler where he displayed a keen interested in different aspects of vehicle restraint systems. Bernd Spengler, the Managing Director, described the advantages of his company’s product programme and together with Mr. Bomba unveiled the DTM race car of Bruno Spengler who was also present. Since many years, Bruno Spengler has been maintaining close ties to the company - not just because both happen to have the same name, but also because as a race driver he is eager to support Spengler’s commitment to the goal of greater safety in motorsports. At the trade exhibition which was part of the congress Spengler informed on the latest developments in the field of vehicle restraint systems. The expert audience present was visibly impressed by the super-slim Ultra 55V system which is only 24 cm wide as well as by the new energy absorbing concrete crash elements.

    To the top

     

    Spengler attends Intertraffic 2010 in Amsterdam

    Monday, 29 March 2010 00:00

    Spengler Intertraffic 2010

    Again Spengler was present with a booth at the most important exhibition for infrastructure, traffic management, safety and parking which takes place at two year intervals. It was an excellent opportunity to describe and explain Spengler’s product range to countless experts and decision-makers from public authorities and traffic safety organisations. Major attention was attracted by the new concrete crash barrier system called Ultra, which with a base width of only 24 cm is the slimmest in the world. Also transitions modules and other systems marketed by Spengler were presented to the expert audience. So this exhibition yet again provided useful insights into the diversity and compatibility of the “classical” concrete crash barrier range as well as the slim-build elements.

    image    image    image

    To the top

     

    Spengler participates in event on the improvement of traffic safety in Egypt

    Monday, 22 March 2010 00:00

    On 1 and 2 March 2010 an informative conference and workshops on the improvement of traffic safety on Egyptian roads took place in Cairo. As part of this event an exhibition had been organised in which Spengler participated with a booth. The event, which received EU funds under the Twinning Project scheme, brought together experts of BASt, the German Road Authority, and its counterpart in Egypt called GARBLT (General Authority for Roads, Bridges & Land Transport) in order to give training to the authorities responsible and to make them aware of European safety standards. How important such projects are can be inferred from the current statistics reporting 15,000 to 20,000 traffic fatalities per year – if set against the number of inhabitants which amounts to 80 million this corresponds to the rate of traffic deaths in Germany in the 70ies.

    On day one exhibitors and visitors were welcomed in the outdoor exhibition area and in glorious sunshine by the Minister of Transport in Egypt and his delegation. Also attending the reception were the Austrian and German ambassadors as well as representatives of the US embassy. The Egyptian Transport Minister insisted on paying a visit to Spengler’s booth when he took a tour of the exhibition hall.

    On the second day a series of presentations were given by experts and members of the industry to delegates from all Egyptian districts. Michael Knobloch and Roland Hasenmueller who represented Hermann Spengler GmbH & Co. KG at the event talked about the different aspects of how traffic safety could be enhanced by the proper use of concrete crash barriers.

    image    image    image

    To the top

     

    Tests with the FIA Institute

    Monday, 15 March 2010 00:00

    image    image    image

    Together with the FIA Institute tests were carried out in Switzerland using the FIA-test ball with a weight of 780 kg. The ball with a diameter of 70 centimetres was catapulted at a speed of 65 km/h (18m/s) into the new vehicle restraint system which comprised patented motorsport concrete crash and fence elements fitted with energy-absorption Omega-claw connectors, which are also protected by patent. For the tests the Spengler-FIA safety fence modules were fitted with a high-strength steel mesh produced by Geobrugg AG in Romanshorn. With its weight exceeding that of a formula one race car, the ball was safely intercepted by this combination – a crucial step towards greater safety for spectators and drivers alike. The Fia Institute and Spengler intend to continue their traditionally close co-operation, with further tests in the offing.

    To the top

     

    Safety expert Christian Danner at the Cologne Exhibition

    Friday, 21 November 2008 22:05


    Great response triggered at the Professional Motorsport World Expo from 11 to 13 November in Cologne. Together with Hubert Gramling, Director of the FIA Institute and Spengler consultant, Christian Danner, safety expert with Spengler gave a talk at the congress for circuit operators, investors and suppliers on aspects of safety in motorsports. To view pictures of the exhibitions please go to the Picture Gallery.

    To the top

     

    René Rast wins Porsche Carrera Cup, Molitor-Racing systems is runner-up

    Sunday, 26 October 2008 16:35


    Spengler

    A season full of tough battles is crowned by success. As sponsors of the MRS-Team we are extremely pleased with this fantastic season and congratulate René Rast, who celebrates his birthday today, on winning the Cup title.

    To the top

     

    The world’s first high-speed impact test

    Wednesday, 15 October 2008 12:35

    Together with the FIA Institute for Motor Sport Safety, Spengler GmbH & Co. KG is the first company to simulate the behaviour of concrete crash barriers under extreme conditions. The tests will be presented by our safety expert Christian Danner at the Professional Motorsport Expo, held from 11 to 13 November in Cologne.

    To the top

     

    Page 2 of 2

FIA Sicherheitsinitiative

Wir unterstützen die weltweite Sicherheitsinitiative der FIA Foundation "MAKE ROADS SAFE", weil auch wir glauben, dass jährlich 1,3 Millionen Verkehrstote entschieden zu viele sind. Alle 6 Sekunden stirbt ein Mensch im Straßen-
verkehr. Treten auch Sie dieser weltweiten Initiative bei:

Logo

Montag, den 29. November 2010 um 00:00 Uhr

Sicherheitssysteme von Spengler bei der Deutschland-Premiere des ROC

image
Im Zeichen seines neuen Slogans "We Make Road Safety" stand für Spengler das zum 23. Mal ausgetragene Race Of Champions, das nach Paris, London und Peking nun zum ersten mal nach Deutschland kam. In der Düsseldorfer Esprit-Arena hatten die Zuschauer hautnahen Kontakt zu den Stars und Champions der populärsten Rennklassen. Um dies auch sicher tun zu können, beauftragten die Organisatoren die Hermann Spengler GmbH und Co. KG, den Stadionkurs mit ihren auf vielen Rennstrecken bewährten Betonschutzelementen auszustatten. Rund um den Stadion-Innenraum waren die Betonschutzwand-Fertigteile platziert. Die Brückendurchfahrt war mit Betonabsenkern geschützt. Die Organisatorin des Race Of Champions, Michele Mouton und Streckenchef Didier Ducelier zeigten sich von Spenglers logistischer Vorbereitung, dem schnellen Aufbau und vor allem der sauberen Ausführung begeistert. "Ich hatte in den letzten zwanzig Jahren noch nie eine so schöne Streckenbegrenzung. Mit den Radienelementen sieht das richtig super aus", meinte ein sichtlich zufriedener Didier Ducelier gegenüber Spengler.

Dass das Ganze nicht nur gut anzuschauen ist, sondern auch souverän seine Sicherheitsaufgabe erfüllt, konnte man nach dem schweren Einschlag von Heiki Kovalainens Audi R8 erkennen. Ohne Verletzungen entstiegen er und seine Lebensgefährtin dem Fahrzeug. Die Betonschutzwand wurde fast 40 cm verschoben, die Spezialverbindung zwischen den Elementen hat optimal funktioniert und dem Anprall ohne Schaden widerstanden. Die Veranstaltung konnte nach kurzer Aufräumpause ohne Einschränkung fortgesetzt werden. Sicherheit für Fahrer, Streckenposten und Zuschauer stehen klar an erster Stelle, was auch die Veranstalterin Michelle Mouton, die sich im Moment des Anpralls genau an dieser Stelle hinter den FIA-Rennsportelementen aufhielt, nur bestätigen konnte: " Für mich ist klar, diesen Schutzmauern verdanke ich mein Leben." CEO Bernd Spengler weist auf weitere wichtige Argumente für seine Produkte hin: "Für den Promoter einer Veranstaltung ist es enorm wichtig, dass nach einem Unfallschaden nicht komplett abgebrochen werden muss und TV-Übertragungen und der weitere Verlauf eines Events nicht gefährdet sind."

nach oben

 

Spengler erneut Aussteller auf der PMW Expo 2010 in Köln

Donnerstag, den 25. November 2010 um 00:00 Uhr


Spengler Professional Motorsports World Expo 2010


Bereits zum dritten Mal nahm die Hermann Spengler GmbH & Co. KG als Aussteller an der von Professional Motorsports World organisierten Messe teil. Auf dieser nur für Fachpublikum zugänglichen Messe konnte Spengler sein speziell auf die Bedürfnisse des Rennsports ausgelegtes Produktprogramm an passiven Schutzsystemen vorstellen. Auf dem großzügigen Messestand mit originalen Betonschutzelementen, einer Boxengassenmauer, Kerbs und Radienelementen fanden mit den interessierten Delegierten zahlreicher Rennstrecken Gespräche statt. Besondere Beachtung fand dabei der auf den Betonschutzwänden integrierbare Spengler-Fangzaun. So kann auf engstem Raum eine effektive, mobile Schutzeinrichtung realisiert werden, die den obligatorischen FIA-Fangzaun gleich in einer Einheit mitliefert. Die Fachleute konnten sich vor Ort im Außen-Demobereich in der Praxis zeigen lassen, wie schnell diese Schutzeinrichtung aufgebaut werden kann und vor allem wie problemlos Wandelemente samt montiertem Zaun in einem Arbeitsgang ausgetauscht werden können.

Rennsportexperte Max Welti, der diese Demos live kommentierte, ist von Spenglers Entwicklungen überzeugt: „Wer wie ich schon schwere Unfälle nur mit viel Glück überstanden hat, kann durchaus einschätzen, wie wertvoll solche Entwicklungen heute für den Rennsport sind. Bernd Spengler ist in dieser Hinsicht ein Rast- und Ruheloser, der hier immer nach neuen Möglichkeiten forscht. Vor allem geht es ihm nicht nur um die reine Aufhaltefunktion, sondern genauso sehr um einen effizienten Energieabbau. Seine Absorber in den Mauern und die Omegakrallen in den Zaunelementen sind hier wirklich überzeugende Detaillösungen.“

Auch die Organisatoren des Race Of Champions sind vom Leistungsvermögen des Spengler-Rennsportsystems überzeugt. Davon zeugte nicht zuletzt der auf dem Spengler-Messestand ausgestellte ROC KTM X-BOW Rennwagen von Sebastian Vettel.

nach oben

 

Spengler mit großem Stand auf dem Deutschen Straßen- und Verkehrskongress 2010

Donnerstag, den 16. September 2010 um 00:00 Uhr


Spengler Straßen- und Verkehrskongress 2010


Am Mittwoch 15. 9. 2010 wurde von Staatssekretär Rainer Bomba der diesjährige Kongress mit einem Messerundgang eröffnet. Bomba stattete dabei mit seiner Delegation auch dem Stand von Spengler einen Besuch ab und zeigte sich an der Thematik um die Fahrzeugrückhaltesysteme sehr interessiert. Geschäftsführer Bernd Spengler erläuterte die Vorteile des Spengler-Produktprogramms und enthüllte mit Staatssekretär Bomba den DTM-Rennwagen von Bruno Spengler, der ebenfalls anwesend war. Bruno Spengler pflegt seit Jahren einen engen Kontakt zum Haus Spengler, nicht nur auf Grund der Namensgleichheit, sondern weil er als Rennfahrer das Engagement der Fa. Spengler um mehr Sicherheit im Rennsport unterstützt. Spengler informiert auf der den Kongress begleitenden Fachausstellung über neueste Entwicklungen im Bereich seiner Fahrzeugrückhaltesysteme. Das Fachpublikum zeigte sich von dem nur 24cm breiten Schmalsystem Ultra 55V genauso beeindruckt, wie auch von den neuen energieabsorbierenden BSWF-Elementen.

nach oben

 

Spengler mit Stand auf Intertraffic 2010 in Amsterdam

Montag, den 29. März 2010 um 00:00 Uhr

Spengler Intertraffic 2010

Auf der im 2-jährigen Rhythmus stattfindenden wichtigsten Fachmesse für Infrastruktur, Verkehrsmanagement, Sicherheit und Parken war auch in diesem Jahr Spengler wieder mit einem Messestand vertreten. Zahlreichen Fachleuten und Entscheidungsträgern aus Behörden und Verkehrssicherungsbetrieben konnte hier in ausführlichen Gesprächen das Spengler Programm erläutert werden. Besondere Beachtung fand das neue Betonschutzwandsystem Ultra, das mit 24 cm Fußbreite das aktuell schmalste System der Welt ist. Auch Übergangskonstruktionen auf alle am Markt befindlichen Systeme wurden dem Fachpublikum vorgestellt. So konnte man auf dieser Messe erneut einen Eindruck von der Vielseitigkeit und Kompatibilität des „klassischen“ Betonschutzwand Programms als auch des neuen Schmalelementesystems gewinnen.

image    image    image

nach oben

 

Spengler nimmt an Veranstaltung zur Verbesserung der Verkehrssicherheit in Ägypten teil

Montag, den 22. März 2010 um 00:00 Uhr

In Kairo fanden am 1. und 2. März 2010 Informationstage und Workshops zur Verbesserung der Verkehrssicherheit auf ägyptischen Straßen statt. Dieses Projekt beinhaltete auch eine Ausstellung an der Spengler mit einem Messestand teilnahm. Unterstützt wird diese Veranstaltung von der EU mit dem Twinning Project, bei welchem Experten der BASt (Bundesanstalt für Straßenwesen) zusammen mit dem ägyptischen Pendant GARBLT (General Authority for Roads, Bridges & Land Transport) die zuständigen Behörden schulen und für europäische Sicherheitsstandards sensibilisieren. Wie wichtig solche Projekte sind, zeigt ein Blick auf die aktuelle Statistik mit 15 - 20.000 Verkehrstoten im Jahr - bei einer Einwohnerzahl von ca. 80 Mio. entspricht dies ungefähr dem Stand aus den 70er Jahren in Deutschland.

Am ersten Tag wurden Aussteller und Besucher bei strahlendem Sonnenschein auf dem Freigelände vom ägyptischen Verkehrsminister und seiner Delegation empfangen. Auch der österreichische und deutsche Botschafter sowie Vertreter der Botschaft der USA waren anwesend. Der ägyptische Verkehrsminister ließ es sich nicht nehmen, dem Spengler Stand bei seinem Rundgang durch die Messehalle einen Besuch abzustatten.

Am zweiten Tag fand eine Vortragsreihe von Verkehrsexperten und Vertretern der Industrie vor den Delegierten aller ägyptischen Bezirke statt. Die Vertreter der Hermann Spengler GmbH & Co. KG Michael Knobloch und Roland Hasenmüller konnten hier Aspekte zum Thema mehr Verkehrssicherheit durch den richtigen Einsatz von Betonschutzwänden erläutern.

image    image    image

nach oben

 

Tests mit dem FIA-Institute

Montag, den 15. März 2010 um 00:00 Uhr

image    image    image

Zusammen mit dem FIA-Institute wurden in der Schweiz Tests mit der 780 kg schweren FIA-Kugel durchgeführt. Diese Kugel, Durchmesser 70 Zentimeter, wurde mit 65 km/h (18m/s), in das neue Aufhaltesystem katapultiert, das aus einem patentrechtlich geschützten Rennsport-Betonschutzelement und ebenfalls patentierten Zaunelementen mit energieabsorbierenden Omegakrallenverbindungselementen besteht. Bei den Versuchen waren diese Spengler-FIA-Fangzaunelemente mit einem hochfesten Stahlnetz von Geobrugg AG, Romanshorn, ausgerüstet. Die Kugel, die über dem Gewicht eines Formel 1 Rennwagens liegt, wurde von dieser Kombination sicher aufgehalten – entscheidend, um die Sicherheit für Zuschauer und Fahrer weiter zu verbessern. Das FIA-Institute und Spengler möchten ihre gewohnt enge Zusammenarbeit weiterführen, weitere Tests sind geplant.

nach oben

 

Sicherheitsexperte Christian Danner auf Kölner Fachmesse

Freitag, den 21. November 2008 um 22:05 Uhr


Große Resonanz auf der Professional Motorsport World Expo vom 11.-13. November in Köln. Christian Danner, Sicherheitsexperte der Fa. Spengler referierte zusammen mit Hubert Gramling, Direktor des FIA Instituts und Berater der Fa. Spengler, auf dem Kongress der Rennstreckenbetreiber, Investoren und Zulieferer über Sicherheitsaspekte im Motorsport. Impressionen von der Messe finden Sie in der Bildergalerie!

nach oben

 

René Rast gewinnt Porsche Carrera Cup, Molitor-Racing-Systems ist Vizemeister

Sonntag, den 26. Oktober 2008 um 16:35 Uhr


Spengler

Erfolgreicher Abschluss einer hart umkämpfen Saison. Als Sponsor des MRS-Teams freuen wir uns über die großartige Saison und beglückwünschen Geburtstagskind René Rast zu seinem Meistertitel.

nach oben

 

Weltweit erster Highspeed-Anpralltest

Mittwoch, den 15. Oktober 2008 um 12:35 Uhr

Als erstes Unternehmen simuliert die Spengler GmbH & Co. KG in Zusammenarbeit mit dem FIA Institut für Sicherheit im Motorsport das Verhalten von Betonschutzwänden unter Extrembedingungen. Die Präsentation dieses Tests findet mit unserem Sicherheitsexperten Christian Danner auf der Professional Motorsport-Expo 2008 vom 11.-13. November in Köln statt.

nach oben

 

Seite 2 von 2

Language Selection

Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)English (United Kingdom)French (Fr)

BSWF


BSWF

Aktuelles